Weeks 39, 40 & 41

Picked up my reading pace a bit in the past two weeks. Finished up What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. I enjoyed it, though wasn’t blown away by any means. It was interesting to hear Murakami’s narative voice outside his novels, and it was a motivating read for my current running endeavors.

I took a good chunk out of Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki, and I am really enjoying it. It was slow going at first and I wasnt really feeling it, but it’s hooked me in and I hope to finish it this weekend.

Howard Zinn’s A People’s History is a real eye opener. I am enthralled by his inclusion of all the marginalized peoples in the US’s relatively short history. I am trying not to get swept away by it and have to remind myself of his very clear bias and what his message is leading to, but I am glad I am being exposed to these parts of American history within the the shaping of this country.

My Current Reads:

  • A People’s History of the United States : Howard Zinn
  • Dead Letters : Caite Dolan-Leach (hard cover)
  • What I Talk About When I Talk About Running : Haruki Murakami (audiobook)
  • The Buried Giant : Kazuo Ishiguro (audiobook)
  • Shadow of the Wind : Carlos Ruiz Zafon (audiobook)
  • Out of Africa & Shadows on the Grass : Isak Dinesen (audiobook)
  • Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage : Haruki Murakami (hardcover)
  • The World According to Garp : John Irving (audiobook)
  • Anna Karenina : Leo Tolstoy  (audiobook)
  • The Stone of Farewell : Tad Williams (audiobook)
  • A Storm of Swords : George R. R. Martin (audiobook)
  • Five Quarters of the Orange : Joanne Harris (ebook)

What are you reading?

46/52 – 52 Book Challenge
2/12 – Back to the Classics
4/16 – Dystopia Reading Challenge
5/12 – Flights of Fantasy
2/5 – European Reading Challenge
63/1001 – 1001 Books to Read

Jess

Leave a comment