Week 11

We are just about 1/5th through the year. How are your goals coming along?

At Alison’s suggestion, I started the Robert Galbraith series, and I just couldn’t stop. I finished all three in a little over a week, and in my googling for a fourth book discovered a BBC show coming out this year, called Cormoran Strike, after the main character.

I was sucked in to the story and the characters, just as I was with Harry Potter. While in no way as brilliant and ground breaking as HP, Rowling has still created characters and plots that leave you yearning for more in a completely different genre with strongly adult themes and language.

Even if you don’t particularly care for murder mysteries, I highly recommend this fun read, as the characters have a lot of depth and are very engaging. Oh, and you can google map just about every place mentioned in London and do street view and move along the streets the characters walk on.

I have never read any Russian literature, and it is always referenced in the books I read so I started Anna Karenina, and am struggling a bit with it.  I am feeling rather daunted by the 33 hrs of audiobook, and it feels rather slow going. I think it will be one I plod along with for several months.

My Current Reads

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix : J K Rowling (audiobook)
  • The World According to Garp : John Irving (audiobook)
  • Anna Karenina : Leo Tolstoy  (audiobook)
  • The Stone of Farewell : Tad Williams
  • The Cuckoo’s Calling : Robert Galbraith  (ebook)
  • The Silkworm : Robert Galbraith  (ebook)
  • Career of Evil : Robert Galbraith  (ebook)

What are you reading?

16/52 – 52 Book Challenge
1/12 – Back to the Classics
1/16 – Dystopia Reading Challenge
4/12 – Flights of Fantasy
1/5 – European Reading Challenge
63/1001 – 1001 Books to Read

Jess

One thought on “Week 11

  1. I was the same with the Robert Galbraith books. I couldn’t stop and really wanted more afterwards. I didn’t think to google map the streets – that’s a fantastic idea as the local geography definitely plays into the suspense in the books and being utterly unfamiliar with London or the rest of the Isle, it was lost on me. After Tana French and then the Galbraith books I was sick of psychopaths and sociopaths. That was enough of a crime fiction binge for me to need a break to maintain a healthy view of the world. I am back at it though reading “Behind Her Eyes” by Sarah Pinborough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

